Photographed by: A. Arthur Fisher

In a very dark theater lit with only a dim spot, Jim James of My Morning Jacket warmed up the crowd with his rootsy-yet-modern folk music. Accompanied by a single musician and a synthesized drum machine, James brought the crowd to full attention for his opener set. The duo was tight, easy going and nonetheless captivating, so one might have heard a pin drop between the beats.

After a short break, John Prine took the stage, amusing the crowd with his bluegrass/country/rock, home-brewed style music and his humorous stories and annecdotes. Jim JamesOf my favorite songs was one written about his grandfather, a song which evolved from his memories of time spent with him. The stage and lighting were simple, decorated solely with the performers, a large stand-up bass, a second guitarist and a percussionist. Still, the show was good 'ole entertianment and a pleaser for all who came.

Next Event


ZZ TOP
Tue Aug 27 @ 8:00PM
Category: Concert

Upcoming Events

Tue Aug 27 @ 8:00PM
ZZ TOP
Concert
Sun Sep 08 @ 7:30PM
BRIAN WILSON & THE ZOMBIES
Concert
Fri Sep 13 @ 8:00PM
BEN HARPER & THE INNOCENT CRIMINALS
Concert
Tue Sep 17 @ 8:00PM
TONY BENNETT
Concert
Sun Sep 22 @ 7:00PM
TOM SEGURA
Comedy
Fri Oct 11 @ 7:30PM
AMERICA FERRERA
Lecture/Presentation
Sat Oct 12 @ 8:00PM
CHRIS D'ELIA
Comedy
Sun Oct 27 @ 8:00PM
TENACIOUS D
Comedy
Tue Nov 05 @ 7:30PM
FARRUQUITO
Concert
Sun Dec 08 @ 7:00PM
PINK MARTINI
Concert